An Outdoor Adventures campground membership currently sells for between $7,995 and $16,995 when purchased new from the company, according to the official Outdoor Adventures Resorts terms page. Resale memberships on the secondary market often run far lower, sometimes $2,500 to $6,500, but carry annual dues and transfer fees that change the real cost.
Key Takeaways
- New Outdoor Adventures memberships officially range from $7,995 to $16,995, per the company’s own Terms & Conditions page.
- Resale listings on marketplaces like RV Property show asking prices from roughly $2,500 to $10,000, but buyers must also budget for transfer fees and annual dues.
- Annual dues on resale memberships in the research reviewed here ranged from $492 to $895 per year, depending on the tier and when the membership was purchased.
- Standard Authorized Family Members (AFMs) pay $15 per night for camping, while Enhanced and Elite tiers camp for free, per the official member handbook.
- Standard AFMs are limited to three reservations per year, a maximum stay of seven consecutive nights, and a required seven-night gap between visits.
- If you’re weighing a membership against simply renting a cabin for your Smoky Mountains trips, direct-booking options like Summit View Lodge near Gatlinburg offer a no-commitment alternative worth comparing on a per-trip basis.
If you’ve searched “how much does a membership at Outdoor Adventures cost,” you’ve probably already hit a wall: the company’s own materials give a wide price range and point you toward a sales call rather than a straight answer. That’s typical for campground membership programs, which bundle a one-time purchase price with recurring dues, transfer fees, and usage rules that aren’t always obvious upfront.
This guide breaks down the real numbers, official and resale, and walks through what you actually get for the money: campsite access, lodging nights, family member privileges, and the fine print around reservation limits. We also look at how that math compares to simply booking a cabin when you want to visit places like the Great Smoky Mountains, since not every mountain trip requires a long-term membership commitment.
As someone who has spent years booking and hosting short-term stays across the Smokies, including our own cabin above Gatlinburg, we’ve watched plenty of travelers weigh membership campgrounds against pay-as-you-go rentals. Both models work depending on how often you travel and where. Here’s what the numbers actually say in 2026.
How Much Does an Outdoor Adventures Membership Cost?
An Outdoor Adventures membership is a purchased right to use the company’s network of campgrounds and lodging properties, and new memberships officially cost between $7,995 and $16,995, according to the Outdoor Adventures Resorts Terms & Conditions page. Outdoor Adventures Inc. and its affiliated Venture Out Resorts brand both sell packages within this range, with the exact price depending on the membership tier and any promotional package included at the time of sale.
The company’s official Details of Participation page confirms this same $7,995 to $16,995 range, which means it’s the most reliable figure available for anyone shopping a brand-new membership directly from Outdoor Adventures Inc., headquartered at 800 Washington Avenue, Suite 200, Bay City, Michigan. Neither official page breaks the range down tier by tier, so the exact number you’re quoted depends on which package a sales representative presents and what’s bundled with it.
Resale prices tell a different story. One RV Property listing shows a perpetual membership resold for $5,000 plus a $700 transfer fee, while the same page notes that a new 2026 perpetual membership lists for $16,995, a gap of nearly $12,000. That spread is the single most important thing to understand before you buy either way.
What Was the Outcome of the Lawsuit Against Outdoor Adventures in Michigan?
Specific case outcomes, filing dates, and court rulings for any legal action involving Outdoor Adventures in Michigan were not available in the research used for this article, so we can’t state a verified outcome here. Membership-based campground and timeshare-style companies across the industry have periodically faced consumer complaints and legal scrutiny over sales practices, contract terms, and fee structures, which is a reasonable thing to research independently before signing anything.
If legal history matters to your decision, the most reliable approach is to search Michigan court records directly or check with the Michigan Attorney General’s consumer protection division for any documented actions involving Outdoor Adventures Inc. or Venture Out Resorts. Additionally, request a full copy of the current Member Handbook and Membership Agreement before purchasing, and read the cancellation and rescission terms closely, since these documents govern your actual rights as a member, not marketing materials or sales conversations.
As a general practice, any large purchase involving recurring annual fees deserves a cooling-off period. Ask the sales office directly whether Michigan law provides a rescission window for this type of contract, and get that answer in writing rather than relying on verbal assurances during a tour or presentation.

What Membership Tiers and Packages Does Outdoor Adventures Offer?
Outdoor Adventures structures its packages around tiers that determine how much you pay upfront and how much flexibility you get afterward, with named levels referenced in resale listings including Ultimate Bronze and Ultimate Gold. Standard, Enhanced, and Elite designations also appear in the official member handbook and primarily affect the nightly camping fee an Authorized Family Member pays, rather than the purchase price itself.
For example, one RV Property resale listing describes an Ultimate Bronze membership priced at $3,800 OBO, with annual dues of $688 and the seller covering the transfer fee, including access to Grand Haven and Rifle River properties. A separate listing on the same marketplace describes an Ultimate Gold membership with a current purchase cost of $10,000 and the same $688 annual dues, showing that tier name alone doesn’t tell you the price, since Gold sits nearly three times higher than the Bronze listing in that particular resale example.
Because tier names and pricing aren’t standardized across every resale listing, ask any seller or the Outdoor Adventures member services team directly which specific package name applies to a quoted price, what properties it grants access to, and whether it’s classified as Standard, Enhanced, or Elite under the current handbook. Those three classification levels are what actually determine your nightly camping fee, not the marketing tier name on a resale ad.
Official New-Membership Pricing vs. Resale Listings: What’s the Real Cost?
The gap between buying new and buying resale is the single biggest cost variable in this whole decision, and it’s rarely explained clearly by either side of the transaction. New memberships purchased directly from Outdoor Adventures cost $7,995 to $16,995 as stated on the company’s official terms page, while resale memberships found on marketplaces like RV Property have listed for as little as $2,500.
That price gap exists because resale memberships are sold by current members transferring their contract, not by the company issuing a new one, and the resale price reflects what a private seller is willing to accept, not what the company charges for a fresh membership. Specifically, one resale listing priced a membership at $2,500 with annual fees of $895 and a transfer cost of $449.75, while another described a lifetime membership at $3,200 with dues frozen at $492, leaving the transfer fee to the buyer.
Here’s a side-by-side look at how these figures compare, drawn directly from the official pages and resale examples reviewed for this article:
| Source Type | Example Price | Annual Dues | Transfer Fee |
|---|---|---|---|
| Official new membership (Outdoor Adventures Resorts terms page) | $7,995 to $16,995 | Not specified in official pages | Not specified in official pages |
| Resale example 1 (RV Property) | $2,500 | $895/year | $449.75 |
| Resale example 2 (RV Property) | $3,200 (lifetime) | $492/year | Buyer pays, amount varies |
| Resale example 3, Ultimate Bronze (RV Property) | $3,800 OBO | $688/year | Seller pays |
| Resale example 4, Ultimate Gold (RV Property) | $10,000 | $688/year | Not specified in listing |
| Resale example 5, perpetual membership (RV Property) | $5,000 | Not specified in listing | $700 |
Notice that annual dues vary from $492 to $895 across these five resale examples, a nearly $400 yearly swing that compounds significantly over a decade of ownership. Before committing to any resale contract, ask the seller for the last two years of dues invoices so you can verify the actual number rather than relying on what’s stated in a classified ad.
What Campground and Lodging Benefits Come With Membership?
Outdoor Adventures membership grants access to the company’s network of campgrounds and fixed lodging properties, permitting use of one campsite at a time free of charge, or overnight lodging, subject to the specific terms in your individual Membership Agreement, according to the official Member Handbook. The handbook also names specific network properties, including Grand Haven and a Rifle River location, both referenced in resale listings as part of the access granted with certain memberships.
What “free” actually means depends on your membership classification. Standard Authorized Family Members pay $15 per night for camping, while Enhanced and Elite AFMs camp without a nightly charge, per the handbook’s stated terms. That $15 nightly fee for Standard members is a detail the official pricing pages don’t mention, so factor it into your total cost if you plan to camp frequently as a Standard-tier member.
Lodging benefits, meaning access to fixed cabins or rental units rather than tent or RV campsites, are also subject to the individual agreement, and availability likely varies by location and season. If lodging access matters more to your travel style than tent or RV camping, ask specifically which properties in the network offer fixed lodging and whether your tier includes it, since not every membership level appears to carry the same lodging privileges.
What Are the Reservation Limits and Stay-Duration Rules?
Reservation rules under an Outdoor Adventures membership restrict how often and how long you can use your benefits, and Standard AFMs face the tightest limits: three reservations per year, a maximum stay of seven uninterrupted nights per visit, and a mandatory seven-night waiting period between visits, according to the official Member Handbook. These limits exist specifically for the Standard tier; Enhanced and Elite AFMs likely have more flexible terms, though the handbook doesn’t specify exact numbers for those higher tiers in the material reviewed.
For a member who wants to camp for a full week every month between May and September, the Standard tier math gets tight fast. Three trips per year at seven nights each caps you at 21 total nights annually, which is a reasonable amount for occasional travelers but a real constraint for anyone hoping to treat a membership like unlimited seasonal access.
Reservations are made through the company’s official reservation resources page or by calling (989) 671-1125, option 1, per the handbook’s stated contact instructions. Before buying any membership, ask directly how many nights per year the specific tier you’re considering actually allows, since that number determines whether the upfront cost makes financial sense for your travel frequency.

Which Family and Additional-Member Options Are Available?
Outdoor Adventures memberships extend usage rights to family members through a classification called Authorized Family Members, or AFMs, and the specific fees and limits attached to that designation depend on whether the AFM falls under Standard, Enhanced, or Elite status, per the official Member Handbook. Standard AFMs, as noted earlier, pay $15 per night for camping and face the three-reservation, seven-night limits described above, while Enhanced and Elite AFMs camp free of the nightly charge.
This structure matters most for extended or multi-generational families who want more than one household using the same membership. Before adding a family member, ask specifically whether there’s an additional fee to register them as an AFM, and confirm in writing which classification, Standard, Enhanced, or Elite, they’ll fall under, since that single detail changes their nightly camping cost from $15 to free.
If your family travel plans involve grandparents joining occasionally rather than year-round, it’s worth comparing the AFM registration cost against simply booking a separate cabin for that portion of your group on a trip-by-trip basis, particularly for trips to destinations like the Smoky Mountains where short-term rental inventory is deep and flexible.
Is Outdoor Adventures Membership Worth It Compared to Renting?
Whether an Outdoor Adventures membership pays off depends entirely on how many nights per year you’ll actually use it, since the $7,995 to $16,995 upfront cost only becomes a bargain if you’re camping frequently enough to offset it against what those same nights would cost booking independently. A Standard AFM capped at 21 nights per year, paying $15 nightly on top of the purchase price and annual dues, needs to run the full math before assuming membership beats paying as you go.
Consider a traveler who visits the Smoky Mountains region two or three times a year for long weekends. According to National Park Service visitor data, Great Smoky Mountains National Park drew more than 11.5 million visitors in 2026, and roughly 62% of surveyed park visitors also spent time in Gatlinburg during their trip. For travelers with that pattern, a $7,995-plus membership with reservation caps and nightly fees may cost more overall than simply booking a cabin for each trip.
That’s where a direct-booking option like Summit View Lodge changes the math. This single-level cabin above Gatlinburg in Chalet Village North sleeps five across two king ensuite bedrooms plus a sleeper sofa, with a private hot tub and fire pit on the view deck facing Mt. LeConte. There’s no upfront membership cost, no annual dues, and no reservation cap: you book the nights you need, when you need them, three miles from downtown Gatlinburg and four miles from the national park entrance.
For travelers whose visits are occasional rather than constant, that flexibility often outweighs the long-term savings a membership promises. According to AirDNA’s Gatlinburg market data, the area supports thousands of active short-term rental listings, meaning inventory and availability aren’t the constraint that membership campgrounds are sometimes marketed to solve.
What Is the Best RV Membership to Have?
There’s no single “best” RV membership because the right choice depends on how often you travel, which regions you visit, and whether you prioritize camping or fixed lodging, and Outdoor Adventures is one of several network options alongside companies such as Coast Resorts. Outdoor Adventures markets itself through both its own brand and Venture Out Resorts, while Coast Resorts operates as a separate resort network mentioned in Outdoor Adventures’ own handbook as a related affiliate.
Before choosing any RV or campground membership, map out your actual travel frequency for the next three to five years. If you’re camping fewer than 15 to 20 nights a year, the math on a $7,995-plus purchase plus $492 to $895 in annual dues rarely beats paying nightly rates at independent campgrounds or renting cabins for the trips you actually take.
If you do travel frequently and camp in a fixed region, request a full breakdown from any membership company, Outdoor Adventures included, covering the purchase price for your specific tier, annual dues, per-night fees if applicable, transfer costs if you ever resell, and reservation limits. Compare that total five-year cost against simply booking your trips independently before signing anything.
Are RV Memberships Worth It?
RV memberships are worth the cost only when your annual usage is high enough to offset the combined purchase price, annual dues, and any per-night fees against what you’d otherwise pay booking campsites or lodging independently trip by trip. For Outdoor Adventures specifically, that means weighing the $7,995 to $16,995 official price, or a resale price in the $2,500 to $10,000 range plus dues and transfer fees, against your realistic camping frequency.
Run this simple check before buying: divide the total upfront cost plus five years of annual dues by the number of nights you’ll realistically use per year over that period. If the resulting per-night cost is higher than what a comparable campsite or cabin rental would cost you independently, a membership isn’t saving you money, regardless of how the sales presentation frames it.
Membership also carries less flexibility than pay-as-you-go booking. Standard AFMs face a three-reservation annual cap and a seven-night gap requirement between visits, per the official handbook, restrictions that don’t exist when you simply book an independent rental for the exact dates you want. For travelers who value spontaneity over long-term savings, that structural difference matters as much as the price tag.
How Do You Choose Between a Membership and Direct Booking?
Choosing between a campground membership and booking independently comes down to three practical questions: how many nights per year you’ll realistically travel, whether you’re loyal to one geographic region or want flexibility across many destinations, and whether you value fixed long-term costs over pay-as-you-go pricing. Answering these honestly before you sit through any sales presentation will save you from overestimating your future usage, which is the most common reason members end up reselling at a loss.
Follow these steps before making a decision:
- Total your camping or lodging nights from the past two to three years to establish a realistic usage baseline rather than an aspirational one.
- Request the exact tier pricing, annual dues, and reservation limits in writing from Outdoor Adventures member services before any verbal sales pitch.
- Calculate a five-year total cost: purchase price plus (annual dues times five) plus any per-night fees for your tier and classification.
- Divide that five-year total by your realistic total nights to get a true per-night cost, then compare it to average nightly rates for comparable campsites or cabins in the regions you actually visit.
- If your travel is occasional or concentrated in one destination like the Smoky Mountains, compare the membership cost against simply booking direct with a property such as Summit View Lodge for each trip, factoring in zero annual dues and no reservation caps.
A common mistake is assuming resale prices reflect the full cost of ownership. A $2,500 resale listing with $895 in annual dues costs $6,975 over five years before you’ve stayed a single night, a figure worth comparing directly against five years of independent trip planning for the same destinations.
Frequently Asked Questions
How much does an Outdoor Adventures Davison membership cost?
Specific pricing for a Davison, Michigan location was not confirmed in the official sources reviewed for this article. Outdoor Adventures’ general new-membership range is $7,995 to $16,995 per the company’s official terms page, but location-specific packages, if they exist, may vary. Contact Outdoor Adventures member services directly at (989) 671-1125 to confirm current pricing for any specific property.
What was the outcome of the lawsuit against Outdoor Adventures in Michigan?
No verified case outcome, ruling, or settlement details were available in the research used for this article. If legal history is important to your purchase decision, check Michigan court records directly and request full contract documentation, including the Membership Agreement and cancellation terms, before signing anything.
What is the best RV membership to have?
There’s no universal best RV membership; the right choice depends on your camping frequency, preferred regions, and whether you value fixed campground access over rental flexibility. Outdoor Adventures and its affiliate network, which references Coast Resorts, is one option among several in this space, and comparing total five-year costs against your realistic usage is the most reliable way to choose.
Are RV memberships worth it?
RV memberships are worth it primarily for frequent campers who will use enough nights per year to offset the purchase price, annual dues, and any per-night fees. For occasional travelers, especially those visiting one region like the Smoky Mountains a few times a year, independent booking often costs less and offers more scheduling flexibility.
Can you negotiate the price of an Outdoor Adventures membership?
Membership sales presentations often include promotional pricing or bundled incentives, so it’s reasonable to ask what discounts are currently available before agreeing to the listed price. Always request any negotiated terms in writing and compare them against the official $7,995 to $16,995 range stated on the company’s terms page before signing.
What happens to annual dues if you buy a resale membership?
Annual dues transfer with the membership in most resale transactions, and the research reviewed here shows dues ranging from $492 to $895 per year depending on the specific contract. Always request the past two years of dues statements from the seller to confirm the actual current rate before finalizing a resale purchase.
Is it cheaper to book a Gatlinburg cabin directly than to join a campground membership?
For travelers who visit the Smoky Mountains only a few times per year, booking directly is often more cost-effective since there’s no upfront membership fee, no annual dues, and no reservation caps. A cabin like Summit View Lodge lets you pay only for the nights you actually use, which suits occasional or seasonal travel better than a long-term membership contract.
Does Outdoor Adventures membership include lodging, or just camping?
Membership permits use of one campsite at a time free of charge, or overnight lodging, subject to the terms of your individual Membership Agreement, according to the official Member Handbook. Exact lodging availability appears to vary by property and tier, so confirm directly with member services which network locations offer fixed lodging under your specific membership.
The Bottom Line on Outdoor Adventures Membership Cost
New Outdoor Adventures memberships officially cost $7,995 to $16,995, while resale listings have appeared for as little as $2,500 to $10,000 plus annual dues of $492 to $895 and transfer fees that vary by transaction. The real cost of ownership depends heavily on your tier classification, since Standard AFMs pay $15 per night and face reservation caps that Enhanced and Elite members don’t.
Before committing to any membership, calculate your realistic five-year usage and compare that per-night cost against independent booking for the destinations you actually visit. In 2026, with Smoky Mountains visitation continuing to run above 11 million annual visitors according to the National Park Service, short-term rental inventory in gateway towns like Gatlinburg remains deep, giving occasional travelers a flexible alternative to long-term membership contracts.
If your travel pattern leans toward a handful of Smoky Mountains trips each year rather than constant camping, direct booking may simply make more financial sense than a membership with fixed dues and reservation limits.

If you’d rather skip the reservation caps and annual dues altogether, Summit View Lodge gives you a 180-degree Mt. LeConte view, a private hot tub, and a fire pit deck just three miles from downtown Gatlinburg, booked only for the nights you need. Check availability here.
Written by Stella & Juan at Summit View Lodge